Jump to content

FAI announce gong list


Recommended Posts

Shay Given, Kevin Kilbane and Robbie Keane will battle it out for Irish Player of the Year, with the FAI announcing their shortlist for the honour.


Damien Duff heads a list of notable absentees from the nominations, and it is record goalscorer Keane that looks favourite for the prize.


Keane has now scored 24 times for Ireland, surpassing previous record holder Niall Quinn.


Given has become one of the most reliable goalkeepers in The Premiership with Newcastle, and is a key component of Ireland's national side, whilst Kilbane has shown what he is capable of as Everton have emerged as one of the shocks of the season so far.


In the young players' award, Andy Reid is expected to be given the nod, but faces competition from Manchester United pair Liam Miller and John O'Shea.


Reid looks set to complete his move to Tottenham this week - and could well arrive as the best young Irish player of 2004.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...