PC Music software

A.C.

I've decided that this (rather than Video Games) would be the right forum for this one...

I used to use Music 2000 on the old PlayStation and, for what it was, it was brilliant fun. I'm trying to find something in the same vein that's rather more powerful and is for the PC. I've tried ejay Music Director Gold but it (A) Doesn't seem to have any way of creating tunes (like a piano roll) and (B) it keeps crashing anyway. It goes back to the shop today.

So, can anyone recommend some sample/synth-based music creation software that's priced (and pitched) for the more amateur and less-likely-to-be-able-to-spend-years-learning-it type o' guy?

Cheers in advance. :xyx

Hey Mate,

I recommend Cubase, ive been using it for 7 months now and its fantastic. The programme uses Audio Tracks (for samples/voice tracks etc) VST instruments (high quality sound/ Beat Box etc) and MIDI (pretty much any instrument u can think of is in here). This piece of software also allows you to edit any other stuff you might have done e.g. if you've recorded a drum or guitar track yourself you can put it into Cubase and edit it.

I know pretty much everything about this programme so if you wanna know anything else just PM me mate.

We had Cubase in the recording studio - I'm not sure but I think Lloyd's upgraded to some other overly-complicated program now. :?

I ended up picking up Music Studio Generation MM for £9.99 - looks like something from the more fun end of the market - plus it seems to mimic the functions that Music 2000 had. As long as I can use it to work up skeletons of tracks to take to the studio which we can then elaborate on with the REAL equipment it'll be fine. :xyx